The Independent National Electoral Commission Deregisters 74 Political Parties

The Independent National Electoral Commission has deregistered 74 political parties out of the country’s 92 parties.

With this decision, political parties including; Fresh Party, National Conscience Party, and Kowa Party no longer exist in the country.

INEC Chairman, Professor Mahmood Yakubu made the declaration at a press conference yesterday in Abuja.

But one of the political parties affected, the KOWA Party described the action of INEC as illegal since they met all conditions of registering a political party in Nigeria.


Stay in Touch with Us, Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Watch Live